Our Lady Star of the Sea Catholic Primary School

Our Lady Star School Our Lady Star of The Sea Catholic Primary School

Early Years at Our Lady Star of the Sea


In Nursery and Reception we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum, which is the statutory guidance published in 2012.  It sets out the standards for the development, learning and care of children up to 5 years old.  The EYFS is based on four main principles which underpin everything else we do

  1. A unique child
  2. Positive relationships
  3. Enabling Environments
  4. Learning and Development

At Our Lady’s school, children in Nursery and Reception are provided with a stimulating learning environment which encourages learning through play – a fundamental part of early learning.

The school uses the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum to plan learning opportunities in the following areas.


EYFS areas of learning and their associated Early Learning Goals


Characteristics of effective learning:


Playing and exploring – engagement

  • Finding out and exploring.
  • Playing with what they know
  • Being willing to ‘have a go’


Active learning – motivation

  • Being involved and concentrating
  • Keeping trying
  • Enjoying achieving what they set out to do


Creating and thinking critically – thinking

  • Having their own ideas
  • Making links
  • Choosing ways to do things


Prime Areas:


Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  • Making relationships
  • Self-confidence and self-awareness
  • Managing feelings and behaviour


Physical Development

  • Moving and handling
  • Health and self-care


Communication and Language

  • Listening and attention
  • Understanding
  • Speaking


Specific Areas:


  • Reading
  • Writing



  • Numbers
  • Shape, space and measure


Understanding of the world

  • People and communities
  • The world
  • Technology


Expressive Arts and Design

  • Exploring and using media and materials
  • Being imaginative